About Us

The National Insurance Commission (NAICOM)  was established in 1997 by the National Insurance Commission Act 1997 with responsibility for ensuring the effective administration, supervision, regulation and control of insurance business in Nigeria and protection of insurance policyholders, beneficiaries and third parties to insurance contracts.



Thomas,Olorundare Sunday

Deputy Commissioner, Technical

Prior his appointment in April 2017 as Deputy Commissioner in charge of technical matters at the Commission, Mr. Thomas held the position of Director –General at the Nigerian Insurers Association (NIA) for seven years from May 2010.

He is a vastly experienced and knowledgeable Insurance Professional with over 35 years uninterrupted service to the Nigerian insurance industry. During these years, Mr. Thomas worked as a Director for seventeen (17) years at the National Insurance Commission from 1992 to December 2009 whereat different times, he superintended over different departments in the technical division. He had also worked as an insurance operator for over 10 years and rose to the position of Assistant General Manager at AIICO Insurance Plc until he left in 1992 to join NAICOM.

Mr. Thomas is an active participant in the insurance industry activities and had served as member of several Committees not only within the insurance industry but the entire Financial Services Sector.He holds a BSc (Hons) in Actuarial Science and an MBA Finance both from the University of Lagos.





                Alh. Auwal Hamza

                                                              Mrs Olubunmi Siyanbola                                                                  Representative (FMF)           Prof. Musa Balarabe                                MEMBER 
               Otunba A. Akinniranye                                                  MEMBER

                 Chief Emmanuel Jideofor Nwosu                                                                           CHAIRMAN

     Mr. Richard O. Borokini                   Representative (CIIN)


           Mr.Thomas O.Sunday

                     Mr.Laz Agbor
                Representative (CBN)

                         Mr.David Aku


             Dr.Talmiz Usman



Go to top